Control Member Activity in the Room with Room Settings


You can control the activities that members can carry out by changing the level of interaction (between presentation and collaboration modes) and sync (enable or disable) among members' screens. This allows you to lead the session the way you want to, and design different activities to engage your room members during your online session. 

Note that by default, only owners and certain default user roles such as team leads/ tutors have the ability to change room settings. You can change whether certain members can change room settings by either changing their roles, editing role permissions or creating a custom role with permission.

In this article:


1

Presenter Mode: Presentation + Sync

This mode provides the smallest level of disruption. The host controls what the other members are currently viewing in the room. Members cannot change the tab or document that is being viewed.

Click on Settings and it will show a menu that allows the host/presenter of the room to change the room settings.

Click on the sync slider. The slider will turn blue, indicating that all the room members' screens are in sync.

Click on Presentation to switch the mode to Presenter mode. By choosing this mode, the screens of the members in the live collaboration room will have to be synced. (ie. The sync slider will be locked)

At the bottom left corner, the room settings indicatior will be green and show that the room is in Presentation Mode.

Uses of Presentation mode

The Presenter mode allows only the host/presenter of the room to control what is being viewed by every room member. Other users cannot 

  • annotate/ draw on what is being viewed 
  • switch tabs
  • choose another document/ typepad/ sketchpad to view
  • use the visualiser, or 
  • use screen share. 

This mode ensures that there will be a minimal level of disruption and is recommended for sessions when the room members are only required to listen to the presenter (e.g. lectures, briefings).

2

Collaborative Mode One: Collaboration + Sync

Allows for collaboration while keeping room members on the same page.

Click on Collaboration to change to collaborative mode. By default, when the sync slider is off (grey), the mode will be automatically changed to Collaboration.

Click on the sync slider. The slider will turn blue indicating that all room members' screen are in sync together.

At the bottom left corner, the room settings indicator will be green and show that the room is in Collaboration Mode.

Uses of Collaboration + Sync

The Collaborative + Sync mode allows for the host/presenter to ensure that all members in the room are viewing the same thing, but the room members still have the freedom to:

  • move between tabs/documents
  • upload content 
  • edit and annotate the resources in the room. 

This mode is recommended for sessions that require input from the room members while still keeping all the members on the same screen (e.g. interactive classroom sessions).

3

Collaborative Mode Two: Collaboration + Unsync

Allows all room members to freely venture around the virtual room.

Ensure that the Collaboration mode is on and click the sync slider. The sync slider will turn grey. This indicates that all members' screens are now unsynced.

At the bottom left corner, the room settings indicator will turn red and show that the room is in Disabled Sync mode.

Uses of Collaboration + Unsync

The members can now move freely in the virtual room without disrupting other room members. They can move to different page to edit his/her work individually. 
This is recommended for sessions that requires the room members to do their individual work while still being able to see each other in the room (e.g. temporary group assignments, where different groups can work on different documents in the room).
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us