Share Editing Permissions for Content


This article is for general users of ClassDo e.g. students. If you are an organisation owner, admin, or member with admin permissions e.g. tutor, please refer to this article.

After sharing a document in the room, you may want to allow other members of the room to see or edit it. You might also want to only provide permission to edit the document temporarily, such as only for a short period of time during a live session. 

With the Share Content feature, you can now fine-tune who is able to view and edit certain content at any time, from the content library or when carrying out a session in the virtual room. You can choose from three different levels of access: block, which prevents the member from viewing the content; view, which allows them to see but not edit the content, and edit.

In this article:

By default

Newly created contents have these default permissions:

  • Everyone in the organisation can view the content file
  • Content file creator or uploader can also edit the content file
  • Presenters, who are the members with the permission "Switch content/page/view to desk or group, change sync mode" can edit the content file

Accessing the Share feature

You can access the Share feature from both the organisation content library and within the virtual room.


From Organisation Content Library

1

On Your PC or Tablet

Click on the Menu button (three-dot icon).

Select Share Content.

You can now make changes to the sharing permissions.


2

On Your Mobile Phone

Click on the Menu button (three-dot menu).    

Select Share content.

You can now make changes to the sharing permissions


From Virtual Room

1

On Your PC or Tablet

If the content is not already open in a tab, start by creating a new tab by pressing the '+' icon.

Select the content that you would like to share.

Click Share.

You can now make changes to the sharing permissions.


2

On Your Mobile Phone

Click on the Menu button on the top left of the screen.

Click on the New Tab icon.

Select the content that you want to share.

Click Share.

You can now make changes to the sharing permissions


Sharing Permissions

You can choose different rights for different room members or room members with a different roles.

To add a new rule for a room member or room members of a particular role, click on the arrow on the dropdown list on the left.

Select the users or users of particular roles that you would like to the new rule to apply to. You can also choose to have this rule applied to:

  • Everyone: this includes everyone in the organisation regardless if they are a member of the room
  • Presenter: anyone in the organisation who has the permission "Switch content/page/view to desk or group, change sync mode"

You can select multiple users to add a rule that applies to them, and selected users will be listed as shown.

Click on the arrow on the dropdown list on the right.

Select the appropriate permission for the members:

  • If the permission is set to " block", they are not able to see the content.
  • If the permission is set to " can view", they are able to see the content but not edit it.
  • If the permission is set to " can edit", they are able to see the content and edit it.

Click Share to add the rule.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us